TGI’s Holiday Challenge Presents Ron Moss!

15 Dec
Ron and Michaela
Ron, with Michaela Simmons, our wonderful grad student volunteer.

Ron Moss, our fantastic new Assistant Director, talks with Michaela Simmons about becoming involved with Street Scholars.

How did you get involved in Street Scholars?
I never saw myself as a college student. I dropped out of high school in the 9th grade. I came to community college for the structure and in a few short years, I’m a senior at UC Berkeley. I look around and still don’t believe it. I wanted to share that. Everyone is always telling the formerly incarcerated to go to school to improve their life, but nobody tells them how. I joined the Street Scholars team to help demystify the educational process.

How is Street Scholars helping you with your education and your life?
It keeps me grounded. I’m a senior at UC Berkeley now. But I’m not even sure I’d be there; I wouldn’t have been confident in my ability to be successful at this level of academia had it not been for the support of Street Scholars. As a mentor, I’m giving support, but in that process, I also receive support and encouragement.

What do you love most about being in college?
My whole perspective really changed when I read Paulo Freire’s Pedagogy of the Oppressed; it set me free. I grew up during the Civil Rights Era and the Black Power Movement. They weren’t teaching in school what I was learning in other environments; there was a disconnect. So, I dropped out of high school in the 9th grade because I just wasn’t engaged. But in 2009, I realized that despite my 20 years of work and life experience, jobs were hard to come by without a degree. So, I made the decision to come back to school. I began by taking a vocational program, then got an AA, then went on to a 4-year university. Right now, I’m applying to the Social Welfare Master’s Program at UC Berkeley. I’ve become an avid, voracious, life-long learner.  I’m just going to keep going for as long as I can. I want to see where it leads.

Why should someone donate to TGI?
The work that we do with formerly incarcerated students cannot be underestimated. We work with a population that has been perennially marginalized, perennially underrepresented, and we as an organization are trying to change that narrative. We want to change not just how the community sees them, but also how they see themselves. We want them to discover, just as I did, that education is a form of empowerment. Making a financial donation is not a lot to ask to help create this shift in the trajectory of the lives of the formerly incarcerated.

Thank you, Ron! We love you and are so proud of you!  Help us shift the trajectory, donate today!

How much should you give? No amount is too small (or too big!) and every dollar helps. Here are some ways your contribution will support Street Scholars.$1000 supports one scholar in the Street Scholars program for one academic year (two semesters).
$500 supports one scholar in the Street Scholars program for one semester.
$250 supports one scholar in the Street Scholars Summer Leadership Training Program.
$100 provides a month of sustenance (snacks and drinks) for our hungry scholars!
$50 provides program materials for one scholar for one academic year (two semesters).
$25 provides program materials for one scholar for one semester.

All contributions are tax deductible. You will receive an IRS receipt within two weeks of your contribution.

Help us reach our goal of $12,000 by December 31, 2014.

CLICK HERE to donate now!

To donate by check – make checks payable to: The Gamble Institute.  Mailing address: The Gamble Institute, c/o Elizabeth Marlow, 5214F Diamond Heights Blvd, No. 134, San Francisco, CA 94131-2175. THANK YOU!
Leave a Reply

